Category icon

How to Register as a Medical Marijuana Patient in Your State

Virginia Medical Marijuana

Qualifying Conditions

  • ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
  • Epilepsy or a similar condition that causes “debilitating seizures”
  • Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
  • Nausea (must be persistent)
  • Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts
  • PTSD “that is being treated or monitored by a licensed mental health therapist”
  • Any terminal illness where life expectancy is less than six months
  • Any condition resulting in hospice care
  • Any rare condition that effects fewer than 200,000 persons in the United States as defined by Section 526 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act and is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts
  • **Patients with a qualifying illness between the ages of 18 and 21 must petition the Compassionate Use Board for medical cannabis approval

State Agency

Physician Certification

Doctors, physician’s assistants and advanced practice nurses can authorize patients for medical cannabis and ARE NOT required to have a bona fide provider-patient relationship with the patient. The medical providers are required to have a controlled substance license and must have completed four hours of approved education.


When will qualifying patients be required to hold a medical cannabis card in order to use and possess medical cannabis?

Qualifying patients will have until December 31, 2020 to use and possess medical cannabis without holding a medical cannabis card. On January 1, 2021, no one without a medical cannabis card can legally use or possess medical cannabis in Utah.

Will qualifying patients need a medical provider’s recommendation in order to obtain a card?

Yes, all patients must have a recommendation from a registered qualified medical provider (QMP) in order to apply for a medical cannabis card. A QMP must register with the Utah Department of Health and must be a Utah licensed physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) who has a controlled substance license and must have completed four hours of approved education.

Is a medical cannabis card or provider recommendation from another state valid in Utah?

A medical cannabis cardholder visiting from another state may use medical cannabis in Utah as long as the patient has one of the qualifying conditions listed in Utah law and possesses medical cannabis in the Utah’s legal medicinal dosage form and amount. A new resident who has lived in Utah for less than 45 days may utilize a medical cannabis card from another state. After 45 days, the card is no longer valid in Utah and the patient must apply for a Utah medical cannabis patient card with a recommendation from a Utah qualified medical provider.

What if a qualifying patient does not live close to a medical cannabis pharmacy?

Patients who live long distances from the nearest medical cannabis pharmacy may prefer to order from the state central fill pharmacy online or by phone and pick up their medical cannabis at a local health department distribution location. These orders are required to be delivered to a local health department location within two business days after the order is placed.

How many medical cannabis pharmacies will be licensed?

Up to seven private medical cannabis pharmacies will be licensed by March 2020.