Florida Medical Marijuana
Share This Article:
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic nonmalignant pain*
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Terminal illness (patients diagnosed with no more than 12-months to live)
- Other debilitating medical conditions comparable to those enumerated *Defined as “pain that is either caused by or originates from a qualifying medical condition”
Qualified physicians can authorize patients for medical marijuana by entering the patient’s information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Doctors ARE NOT required to have a bona fide provider-patient relationship with the patient. Once the physician inputs the patient’s information, the patient must apply and be approved for a Medical Marijuana Use Identification Card.
Marijuana Medicine Available
What is the status of my Medical Marijuana Use Registry Card Application?
Payments take five business days from the date they are submitted to fully process and post in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Once the payment processes, the application review period can take up to an additional five business days. The entire application review process takes 10 total business days from the date of submission. The graphic below illustrates the application approval process.
If you are submitting an application by mail, please allow an additional 3-5 days for postal delivery of your application.
Patients and Caregivers may also inquire about the status of their Medical Marijuana Use Registry Identification Cards by calling (800) 808-9580 or emailing email@example.com.
Can I grow my own marijuana?
No. Florida law only allows licensed medical marijuana treatment centers to grow, process and dispense marijuana. The department will refer any business or individual suspected of violating state law to local law enforcement for investigation. It is important to remember that marijuana is illegal under federal law.
Who can sell medical marijuana?
Only licensed medical marijuana treatment centers (MMTCs) can sell medical marijuana. Medical marijuana may not be purchased from any location other than an approved MMTC.
Medical marijuana treatment centers may only provide medical marijuana or a marijuana delivery device to a qualified patient or a qualified patient’s caregiver.
How can a patient receive medical marijuana?
A qualified patient must first seek treatment from a qualified
physician. A qualified physician must enter the patient’s information
into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Once the physician inputs the
patient’s information, the patient must apply and be approved for a Medical Marijuana Use Identification Card. Once approved, patients may fill the order only at an approved Medical Marijuana Treatment Center, or via delivery.
What are the requirements for a Florida physician to qualify to order medical marijuana?
A physician may only order low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana if he or she holds an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, Florida Statutes or an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, Florida Statutes.
Additionally, a qualified physician must have successfully completed a 2-hour CME course and examination titled Florida Physician Medical Marijuana Course.
Completion of the 2-hour course and exam is required each time the
physician renews his or her medical license.