West Virgina Medical Marijuana
Share This Article:
When may I apply for a medical cannabis patient card?
A release date for applications has not yet been determined for patients and caregivers. A press release will be issued once that has been determined. Please refer to the www.medcanwv.gov website for updates.
How do I apply for a medical cannabis patient card?
When the application is been released, a link to the online application will be available on the www.medcanwv.govwebsite. The patient will:
oSubmit an online application with the required fee.
oObtain a completed physician’s certification from an approved practitioner prior to applying.
Who will be able to obtain medical cannabis?
Patients who are residents of West Virginia and have a serious medical condition as defined in the Medical Cannabis Act, certified by a physician and issued a card by the Office of Medical Cannabis will be able to obtain medical cannabis at an approved dispensary located within West Virginia.
A “caregiver” who is designated by the patient (who has been issued a medical cannabis patient card by the Office of Medical Cannabis) and approved by the Bureau will be able to obtain medical cannabis from an approved dispensary located within West Virginia in order for the caregiver to deliver medical cannabis to the patient.
Who is considered a “caregiver” under the Act?
The Act define a “caregiver” as an individual, 21 years of age or older unless otherwise authorized by the Bureau, who is:
oDesignated by a patient or, if the patient is under 18 years of age, an individual that is a parent or legal guardian of the patient, or
oAn individual designated by a patient or legal guardian, or
oAn appropriate individual approved by the Bureau upon sufficient showing that no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available.
Caregivers must submit an application online for an identification card and undergo a criminal history background check.
Will patients with a serious medical condition be eligible to receive medical cannabis if they are under 18?
Yes. Patients under the age of 18 with a serious medical condition may obtain medical cannabis through a caregiver. Once the patient application is available, a parent or legal guardian will apply for the patient identification card on behalf of the minor patient. Once the patient identification card is issued, the parent or legal guardian, the person designated by a parent or legal guardian, or an individual approved by the Bureau in the absence or unavailability of a parent or legal guardian, will then apply as a caregiver.
How do I find an approved doctor?
The physician registry has not yet been established. Please continue to check the www.medcanwv.govwebsite for updates on this registry.
Until medical cannabis is available in West Virginia, am I able to obtain medical cannabis from another state?
The Bureau may enter into reciprocity agreements with any states that have comparable requirements for the use and lawful purchase of medical cannabis in a manner consistent with the provisions of the Act to allow terminally ill cancer patients to purchase medical cannabis in another state.